Monday, March 29, 2010

And the winners are...

The results are in for this years Bram Stoker Award winners which were held over the weekend at the World Horror Convention in Brighton, England. Below is a list of the 2009 winners:
Novel: Audrey's Door, Sarah Langan (Harper)
First Novel
: Damnable, Hank Schwaeble (Jove)
Long Fiction
: The Lucid Dreaming, Lisa Morton (Bad Moon Books)
Short Fiction
: In The Porches Of My Ears, Norman Prentiss (PS Publishing)
: He Is Legend: An Anthology Celebrating Richard Matheson, Christopher Conlon (ed.) (Gauntlet Press)
: A Taste of Tenderloin, Gene O'Neill (Apex Book Company)
: Writers Workshop of Horror, Michael Knost (Woodland Press)
: Chimeric Machines, Lucy A. Snyder (Creative Guy Publishing)

Lifetime Achievement Awards were given to Brian Lumley and William F. Nolan, Specialty Press Awards to Ray Russell and Rosalie Parker of Tartarus Press, the Silver Hammer Award for outstanding service to the Horror Writers Assoc. to Kathryn Ptacek and the President’s Richard Laymon Service Award to Vince A. Liaguno. 

"This was the first time we've presented the Stoker Awards outside of the North American continent," says co-organizer Lisa Morton. "and I hope it serves to continue to expand HWA's presence and membership outside of the U.S. and Canada. We're committed to serving the entire world of horror." 

According to Science Fiction Awards Watch, new categories will be added to presumably next years ballot, including graphic novel, screenplay and YA novel. For more information about the HWA, visit their Web site.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails